Mini Project 2: Creating a Water Garden

I saw this idea on Pinterest, and thought it looked really cool so i decided to give it a go. I went to the local pet shop to by the plants as i knew that they sold fish so they most likely sold water plants. We looked around at the budgies and bunnies before going upstairs to the reptile and fish section. I chose two plants, both self-oxygenating, one was quite tall and almost ‘fluffy’ the other just looked like a regular-ish plant with waxy leaves.

Materials:

  • Glass jar – bought from charity shopIMG_5334.JPG
  • 2 water plants- from pet shop
  • gravel- already had
  • glass stones/decorative gravel/ river pebbles-charity shop

    Method:

 

IMG_5336.JPG

First i washed the gravel really well as well as rinsed the river pebbles ect.

IMG_5339.JPG

I then made a funnel out of paper and used it to add a thin layer of gravel to the bottom of the jar.

IMG_5341.JPG

Then ,using the same funnel, I added a slightly thicker layer of the blue decorative gravel.

IMG_5342.JPG

Next I used a kebab stick to dig a hole big enough for the base of the first plant and carefully placed it in with the help of the kebab stick, covering with some of the gravel.

IMG_5344.JPG

I was putting in the second plant when I realised it was to tall so I took of the foam and plastic covered wire, then trimmed small amounts off at a time until I was happy with the height. I then repeated the planting steps I used for the last plant.There wasn’t quite enough of the blue gravel to completely cover the base of the plant, so i added more until I was happy.

IMG_5348.JPG

I then used a jug to pour in the water onto the back of a spoon to help the water to not disturb the gravel.

IMG_5346.JPG

After one jugful (this jug is rather small) I added the pebbles and glass stones. Not entirely sure why I didn’t do this before adding the water but that’s just what happened.

img_5352

Here is the finished garden! I added a few extra glass stones and moved some of the leaves around to help fill the jar up a bit. They water will need changing once a week to keep the algae down and keeping it out of direct sunlight should help with this.

My Mum asked the shop assistant about adding snails, she said that assassin snails would be okay so I,m thinking about that but  will probably go ahead as I quite like the idea of having a jar of water plants and snails.

Leave a Reply

