Re-vamping the Wardrobe

20170422_153756[1]

In my room there was a wardrobe and two sets of cupboards that had doors with slats, I didn’t particularly like the look of them. Originally I was going to take out the slats, re-enforce   the cupboards and cover the middle with fabric but when we went to look at the materials needed I realised that it was going to cost way to much to do that, so I had to come up with something else. Eventually I decided to take the doors off completely on the two sets of smaller cupboards and replace the doors on the larger wardrobe with extra curtains I had.

So we went out again the following weekend to buy Paint for the woodwork that I was doing, whilst we were there bought some wallpaper to line to insides of the smaller cupboards and bought a metal rod to put the curtains on and the appropriate fittings for the rod.

20170422_154038[1]

When we got home I took off the doors (with the help of my dad) then measured the cupboards with a measuring tape.

20170422_154058[1]

We then cut the rod to the right size before attaching the fittings to the inside of the wardrobe.

20170422_153851[1]

After checking that the rod fitted we slided on the curtain and put it up. (that’s also the wallpaper I chose for the inside of the cupboard above.)

20170422_153818[1]

Here is the final thing, once the first one was done and I was happy we repeated the steps for the second one. I really like how it looks and will be doing the smaller cupboards above soon once I’ve bought the wallpaper paste and sorted out the woodwork.

Leave a Reply

